Wake Forest is the No. 1 seed

Wake Forest is the No. 1 seed

Indianapolis. Wake Forest (ACC, North Carolina, 17-2-0) is the number one seed in the NCAA Men’s Soccer national tournament as announced by the NCAA on Monday. It is the 22nd time Wake Forest makes the national tournament. The Demon Deacons won the title once in 2007.

The bracket consists of 48 teams total. The 16 top teams are seeded and received first round byes. Out of the 48 total teams participating, 24 qualified directly by winning their respective conference and 24received an at-large-bid. Out of the 16 top teams, four have attended the SOCCERSHIPS showcase in recent years. Those teams are the University of Central Florida (UCF, no. 14 seed), University of Kentucky (no. 3 seed), University of North Carolina Chapel Hill (no. 5 seed) and Virginia Tech (no. 12 seed). With  UConn, UNC Wilmington, Furman and Rider four more teams, who qualified for the national tournament, have been present at one of our showcases in the past.

The defending champion Stanford is the no. 9 seed in the tournament and awaits to play the winner of UC Irvine and Grand Canyon in round 2.

First round games will be played on November 15th while all 2nd round games will be played on Sunday, Nov. 18th. The College Cup will take place on December, 7th and 9th on the campus of the University of California, Santa Barbara.